Department History

The Township of Derry Police Department was created on July 1, 1966 and began with a Chief of Police and three officers. The department has grown steadily as the community has grown and today has 40 sworn officers in addition to administrative civilians, community service officers, and special school police. Derry’s full-service municipal police department is Nationally Accredited through CALEA (Commission on Accreditation of Law Enforcement) and State Accredited by the Pennsylvania Chiefs of Police Association.