Police Honor Guard

The Lower Paxton Police Department Honor Guard consists of six members representing each of the three Police Divisions. The Honor Guard is supervised by Lieutenant Mark Zerbe and its members include: Corporal Todd Witmer, Corporal Tom Bell, Corporal Rich Needham, Ofc. Zach Fehernbach and Sergeant Justin DePasqua. The honor guard was initially created to honor deceased police officers however since its inception, the unit responsibilities have increased rapidly. Now, unit members serve as pall bearers, conduct flag presentations at funerals and have participated in many community events, ceremonies, parades. Additionally, the Unit has posted the colors at two sporting events.


Most recently, the honor guard marched in the annual Linglestown Memorial Day parade and the St. Patrick’s Day Parades in Harrisburg.


The Honor Guard received its formal training from the U.S. Navy Ceremonial Guard. The training consisted of basic drill maneuvers, flag folding, funeral protocol, and posting of colors.